Tuesday, August 26, 2008

A domain registrant to avoid

Details are a bit thin on the ground at the moment, but the Harry's Place blog has disappeared, temporarily no doubt, because the company handling their domain registration has deleted/suspended their (DNS) name service.

; <<>> DiG 9.4.2-P1 <<>> www.hurryupharry.org
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 28594
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;www.hurryupharry.org. IN A

hurryupharry.org. 10573 IN SOA ns1.daily.co.uk. root.hurryupharry.org. 2008082603 10800 900 604800 43200

No answer section, you might note. Apparently, this is because a complaint of some kind was sent to them.

At first sight, this is an escalation of the tactics used in past attempts to suppress blogspeech, during which complaints were sent to the hosting company involved but, to my knowledge, there were no attempts to have DNS records suspended.

More later.

Oh, and the registration company to avoid? Daily Internet Services Limited. They're the people who manage this DNS zone.


cabalamat said...

Is Harry's Place still accessible by IP address?

Anonymous said...

It is indeed because of a complaint. I read all about it over at Ross's site this morning:


I thought they were having technical problems, until I saw that...